EN

Professor of Financial Accounting WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • Corporate Finance
  • Financial Accounting
  • Private Equity


Prof. Dr. Garen B. Markarian ist Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Externes Rechnungswesen an der WHU Koblenz. Als Wissenschaftler spezialisiert er sich im Bereich Rechnungswesen, Corporate Finance und Private Equity und unterrichtet an der IE Business School in Madrid, der HEC Business School in Paris, der Bocconi Universität in Mailand, der Rice Universität in Huston und der Case Western Reserve Universität in Cleveland.

Prof. Markarians Forschungen fokussieren sich auf Führungsmechanismen, Vorstandsvergütungen, Bankkrisen, Aktienmärkte sowie auf Finanzberichtserstattungen und Finanzbewertungen. Für seine Publikationen erhielt er Auszeichnungen von der American Finance Association und der American Accounting Association und wurde in der Financial Times so wie im CFO Magazin aufgeführt.

Zuvor war Prof. Markarian Berater für Standard & Poor’s “Society of Industry Leaders” und war der erste regionale Wirtschaftsbeauftragte für die Vereinigten Staaten. Er agierte als Berater für Start-up-Unternehmen und Private-Equity-Gesellschaften. Prof. Markarian hat mehr als 15 Jahre Lehrerfahrungen im Bereich Management für Bachelor und Masterstudiengänge, weiterführender Bildungsprogramme und in der Betreuung von Doktoranten.

Er beteiligte sich an der Lehrplangestaltung und Umsetzung verschiedener Studiengänge und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Institutionenaufbau. Prof. Markarian erhielt seinen Bachelor of Science in Biologie an der American University of Beirut. Er promovierte an der Weatherhead School of Management der Case Western Reserve University.

Entdecken Sie unsere Open Programs

DE

Professor of Financial Accounting
WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • Corporate Finance
  • Financial Accounting
  • Private Equity


Garen Markarian is chair of financial accounting at WHU-Koblenz. An international scholar specializing in corporate finance and governance, he has taught at IE Business School (Madrid), HEC (Paris), Bocconi, (Milan), Concordia (Montreal), Rice (Houston), and Case Western Reserve (Cleveland).

Dr. Markarian has extensive research on governance mechanisms, executive compensation, the banking crisis, stock market, and financial statements and valuation. His publications have received awards, both from the American Finance Association and the American Accounting Association, and mentioned in the Financial Times and CFO magazine.

Previously, he was a consultant for Standard & Poor’s “Society of Industry Leaders,” and was the first regional economic officer for the United Nations, and has consulted for starts-ups and private equity. Dr. Markarian has 15yrs+ experience in management education at the undergraduate, masters, executive, and Ph.D. level.

He has participated in curriculum design and implementation of various degree programs, and has extensive experience in institution building. Dr. Markarian has earned a B.S. in biology from American University of Beirut, and a Ph.D. from the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University.

Explore our Open Programs