EN

Head Competence Center “Management Support Systems“ Darmstadt University of Technology

Expertise

  • Digital Transformation mit Fokus auf Strategie, Roadmapping, Personal
  • Robot Process Automation (RPA)
  • Business Intelligence (BI)

Als Leiter des Digital Acceleration Teams koordiniert Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Mayer die Digitalisierung bei dem Spezialglas- und Glaskeramikhersteller SCHOTT AG. Zudem leitet er den Arbeitskreis „Digital Finance“ der Schmalenbach-Gesellschaft e.V. und führt das Kompetenzzentrum „Unternehmenssteuerungssysteme“ an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt.

Als Autor zahlreicher Beiträge und Sprecher auf internationalen Konferenzen ist Jörg H. Mayer ein ausgewiesener Experte im Bereich der Digitalisierung. Mit 25 Jahren an Erfahrung als Grenzgänger zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis kennt er zudem die Finanzfunktion; dies aus verschiedenen Perspektiven: Er war acht Jahre bei McKinsey&Comp., Inc, tätig (Strategie), weitere acht Jahre bei den Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften KPMG und Deloitte (Organisation und Prozesse) und sechs Jahre bei SAP und Accenture (IT). Jörg H. Mayer begann seine Karriere als Referent des Finanzvorstands (CFO) der Metallgesellschaft AG, Prof. Dr. h.c. Karlheinz Hornung.

Jörg H. Mayer studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit Fachrichtung Maschinenbau an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Er promovierte dort auch zu Führungsinformations-systemen für die internationale Management-Holding. An der Universität St.Gallen habilitierte er sich im Bereich des (digitalen) Informationsmanagements. Jörg H. Mayer ist Schmalenbach-Preisträger, Träger des Österreichischen Controller-Preises und hält eine besondere Auszeichnung für anwendungsorientierte Spitzenforschung der Universität St.Gallen.

Zusammenfassend ist Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Mayer ein ergebnisorientierter Teamplayer mit interdisziplinärer Ingenieursausbildung und einem breiten Erfahrungsschatz, die es ihm in besonderer Art und Weise erlauben, die Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung in Wissenschaft und Praxis abzudecken. Sein Industriefokus sind produzierende Unternehmen im Bereich Chemie, Pharma, Automobil und Energiewirtschaft.


Entdecken Sie unsere Open Programs

DE

Head
Competence Center “Management Support Systems“ Darmstadt University of Technology

Expertise

  • Digital Transformation mit Fokus auf Strategie, Roadmapping, Personal
  • Robot Process Automation (RPA)
  • Business Intelligence (BI)

As head of the Digital Acceleration Team, Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Mayer coordinates digitalization at SCHOTT AG, a manufacturer of special glass and glass ceramics. Furthermore, he leads the „Digital Finance“ working group of the Schmalenbach Association and is head of the „management support systems“ competence center at Darmstadt University of Technology.

As author of numerous articles and speaker at international conferences, Jörg H. Mayer is a proven expert in the field of digitalization. With 25 years of experience bridging academia and practice, he also knows the finance function from various perspectives: He worked for McKinsey&Comp., Inc. for eight years (strategy), for KPMG and Deloitte (organization and processes) for another eight years, and for SAP and Accenture (IT) for six years. Jörg H. Mayer began his career as a consultant to the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of Metallgesellschaft AG, Prof. Dr. h.c. Karlheinz Hornung.

Jörg H. Mayer studied engineering and business administration majoring in mechanical engineering at Darmstadt University of Technology: He also completed his doctorate there in „Management Support Systems for the international Management Holding.“ At the University of St.Gallen, he became his Professor application in the domain of (digital) information management. Jörg H. Mayer is a Schmalenbach Award winner and recipient of the Controller-Award from the Austrian Controller Institute, additionally he holds a special distinction for applicable cutting-edge research at the University of St.Gallen.

In summary, Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Mayer is a result-oriented team player with an interdisciplinary engineering background and a wealth of experience, which allows him to uniquely tackle the challenges of digitalization in academia and practice. In doing so, he focuses on the manufacturing industry covering Chemicals, Pharma, Automotive, and Energy.


Explore our Open Programs