EN

Professor of Economics WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • International Finance & International Financial Markets
  • Open Economy Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Policy
  • Europäische Integration


Prof. Dr. Michael Frenkel ist stellvertretender Dekan für International Beziehungen und Vielfalt und Professor für Makroökonomie und internationale Wirtschaftslehre an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. Er ist ebenfalls Direktor des Center for European Studies (CEUS). Zwischen 1996-1998 und 2005-2014 war er Dekan der WHU.

Prof. Frenkel erhielt sein Diplom in Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie seinen Doktor an der Universität Mainz. Durch die Gastprofessur an renommierten Universitäten wie der Harvard University, University of Michigan Business School, Georgetown University, Carnegie Mellon University, Emory University, Brandeis University und vielen mehr, sowie der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationale Währungsfonds, verfügt er über eine langjährige internationale Berufserfahrung. Nach seinem Wechsel zur WHU war er durch sein hohes Engagement in der Lage, eines der bedeutendsten Netzwerke für Internationale Studenten, das jemals an einer deutschen Business School gegründet wurde, aufzubauen. Des Weiteren war er an der Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Akkreditierung Institutionen wie der EQUIS und der AACSB beteiligt.

Prof. Frenkel war Berater für Internationale Währungsfonds, die Weltbank und die EU-Kommission. Er lehrte ebenfalls im Bereich der weiterführenden Bildungsprogramme sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den Vereinigten Staaten und war viele Jahre für die wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Bildung von jungen deutschen Diplomaten des Außenministeriums verantwortlich.

Prof. Frenkel hat mehr als 100 Publikationen zum Thema Makroökonomie und Internationale Finanzen veröffentlicht. Seine Arbeiten erschienen in mehreren internationalen Journalen und Lehrbüchern und er war Co-Autor zweier in Deutschland weitverbreiteter Lehrbücher, die sich mit der Wachstumstheorie und der nationalen Einkommensrechnungen beschäftigen. Er ist aktives Mitglied des Redaktionsbeirats für das Global Finance Journal, das International Journal of Business und das Journal of Economics and Statistics.

Entdecken Sie unsere Open Programs

DE

Professor of Economics
WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • International Finance & International Financial Markets
  • Open Economy Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Policy
  • European Integration


Professor Michael Frenkel is Associate Dean for International Relations and Diversity and Professor of Macroeconomics and International Economics at WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. He is also the Director of the Center for European Studies (CEUS) at WHU. Between 1996-1998 and 2005-2014, he was Dean of WHU.

He received his diploma degree in economics and his doctoral degree from the University of Mainz, Germany. His extensive international experience stems from working for several years with the International Monetary Fund and from visiting positions, which he held with Harvard University, the University of Michigan Business School, Georgetown University, Carnegie Mellon University, Emory University, Brandeis University, and several other universities abroad. Since joining WHU, he has built up the most significant international student exchange network of any business school in Germany. He has also been very active in accreditation institutions and served on different accreditation teams for EQUIS and the AACSB.


Professor Frenkel worked as a consultant to the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, and the European Commission. He is actively involved in executive education both in Germany and in the United States. For many years, he was responsible for the economics education of young German diplomats with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Professor Frenkel has more than 100 publications in the fields of macroeconomics and international finance. He is the co-author of two standard German textbooks on growth theory and on national income accounting. He has published in a number of international journals and contributed to a several books as an author or an author. He serves on the editorial board of the Global Finance Journal, the International Journal of Business, and the Journal of Economics and Statistics.

Explore our Open Programs