Top Platzierung beim Financial Times Executive Education Ranking 2022!
Open Programs der WHU liegen im weltweiten Vergleich nun auf Platz 15 und gehören damit zu den Top Weiterbildungsanbietern - Die Customized Programs sind zum ersten Mal erfolgreich gerankt.Jetzt lesen!
Ihre Partner zum Erfolg
Ihre Partner zum ErfolgLernen Sie unsere Fakultätsmitglieder kennen

Ben Shields, PhD

Senior Lecturer in Managerial Communication bei MIT Sloan School of Management

Ben Shields ist ein Senior Lecturer an der MIT Sloan School of Management. Seine Arbeit als Lehrer, Forscher und Praktiker konzentriert sich auf die digitale Transformation in der Sport-, Medien- und Unterhaltungsbranche. In seiner aktuellen Forschung untersucht er die Auswirkungen von Web 3.0-Technologien auf das Fanerlebnis und Geschäftsmodelle.

Er unterrichtet eine Reihe von Kursen am MIT Sloan, darunter "Sports Strategy and Analytics", "Social Media Management" und "Creative Industries: Medien, Unterhaltung und Sport". Er unterrichtet auch im MIT Sloan Executive Education Programm, in dem er Faculty Director von zwei Programmen ist: die "Formula 1 Extreme Innovation Series" und die "Global Executive Academy". Darüber hinaus hat er das offene Programm "Data-Driven Teams: The Art and Science of Winning" und das Online-Programm "Management Analytics": Decision-Making Lessons from the Sports Industry”.

Ben Shields ist Autor bzw. Mitautor von drei Büchern: "Social Media Management: Persuasion in Networked Culture" (Oxford University Press, 2016), "The Sports Strategist: Developing Leaders for a High Performance Industry" (Oxford University Press, 2015) und "The Elusive Fan: Reinventing Sports in a Crowded Marketplace" (McGraw-Hill, 2006). Er ist außerdem Mitautor von MIT Sloan-Fallstudien über die Formel 1 und die National Women's Soccer League.

Bevor er zum MIT kam, war er Direktor für soziale Medien und Marketing bei ESPN. Er hat einen Ph.D. in Medien, Technologie und Gesellschaft von der Northwestern University, wo er seine Dissertation über Fantasy Sports schrieb.

Ben Shields, PhD unterrichtet aktuell
Transformational Technologies: Applied Lessons from Sports (by WHU & MIT xPRO)Mehr erfahren

Excellence in Management Education

WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Erkrather Str. 224a
40233 Düsseldorf

execed@whu.edu

EQUIS
AACSB
FIBAA

Excellent ranking results for the Financial Times Executive Education Ranking 2022!
WHU's Open Programs are now ranked 15th in a global comparison, making them one of the top continuing education providers - The Customized Programs are successfully ranked for the first time.Learn more!
Your partner to success
Your partner to successPublished authors, renowned business leaders. Introducing our world-class Faculty.

Ben Shields, PhD

Senior Lecturer in Managerial Communication at MIT Sloan School of Management

Ben Shields is a Senior Lecturer at the MIT Sloan School of Management. His work as a teacher, researcher, and practitioner focuses on digital transformation in the sports, media, and entertainment industries. His current research explores the implications of web 3.0 technologies on the fan experience and business models.

He teaches a number of courses at MIT Sloan, including “Sports Strategy and Analytics”, “Social Media Management”, and “Creative Industries: Media, Entertainment and Sports”. He also teaches in the MIT Sloan Executive Education program, in which he is the Faculty Director of two programs: the “Formula 1 Extreme Innovation Series” and the “Global Executive Academy”. In addition, he created and teaches the open enrollment program “Data-Driven Teams: The Art and Science of Winning” and the self-paced online program “Management Analytics: Decision-Making Lessons from the Sports Industry”.

Ben Shields is the author or co-author of three books, “Social Media Management: Persuasion in Networked Culture” (Oxford University Press, 2016), “The Sports Strategist: Developing Leaders for a High Performance Industry” (Oxford University Press, 2015), and “The Elusive Fan: Reinventing Sports in a Crowded Marketplace” (McGraw-Hill, 2006). He also co-authors MIT Sloan case studies on Formula 1 and the National Women’s Soccer League.

Prior to MIT, he served as the Director of Social Media and Marketing at ESPN. He holds a Ph.D. in Media, Technology, and Society from Northwestern University, where he wrote his doctoral dissertation on fantasy sports.

Ben Shields, PhD currently teaches
Transformational Technologies: Applied Lessons from Sports (by WHU & MIT xPRO)Find out more

Excellence in Management Education

WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Erkrather Str. 224a
40233 Düsseldorf

execed@whu.edu

EQUIS
AACSB
FIBAA