EN

Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Entrepreneurship, Innovation und Technological Transformation WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • Kollaborative Innovation

Prof. Dr. Dries Faems ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Entrepreneurship, Innovation und Technological Transformation an der WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management. Außerdem ist er Gastprofessor an der LUISS Business School in Rom. Vor seinem Eintritt bei der WHU war er Assistant Professor (2007-2009) und Associate Professor (2009-2011) an der Universität Twente sowie Professor für Innovation & Organisation an der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Universität Groningen (2011-2018). Er hat einen Master-Abschluss in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, 2001, magna cum laude) und promovierte in angewandter Ökonomie (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Juni 2006) mit einer Arbeit zum Thema: “Collaboration for Innovation: Processes of Governance and Learning in R&D Alliances.”

Er publizierte bereits Artikel in Zeitschriften wie Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Management Studies, Research Policy, Organization Studies und Journal of Product Innovation Management. Seine aktuelle Forschung befasst sich mit kollaborativer Innovation. Insbesondere untersucht er, wie Kooperationsaktivitäten die Innovationskraft und finanzielle Leistungsfähigkeit von Unternehmen beeinflussen und wie Unternehmen verschiedene Arten offener Innovationsstrategien effektiv managen können.

Dries Faems war Mitherausgeber (2012-2013) und Herausgeber (2014- 2018) des Journal of Management Studies. Derzeit ist er beratender Herausgeber des Magazins. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitglied des Editorial Review Boards des Academy of Management Journal und des Journal of Trust Research. Er war auch als Gastherausgeber einer Sonderausgabe zum Thema „Intellectual Property Management“ bei der California Management Review tätig.

Er verfasst regelmäßig Beiträge im Meinungsteil des Financieel Dagblad und ist außerdem einer der Wirtschaftskolumnisten von RTV Noord in den Niederlanden. Dries Faems war zudem Koordinator des Executive Training Programms "How to make innovation happen in Horizon2020" für die Generaldirektion CONNECT der Europäischen Kommission. Im Jahr 2016 erhielt er vom Samenwerkingsverband Noord Nederland eine Forschungsförderung in Höhe von 120.000 Euro für die Durchführung eines jährlichen Innovationsmonitors für die nördlichen Niederlande.

Entdecken Sie unsere Open Programs

DE

Chair of Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Technological Transformation
WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management

Expertise

  • Collaborative Innovation

Prof. Dr. Dries Faems holds the Chair of Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Technological Transformation at WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. He also is a Visiting Professor at the LUISS Business School in Rome. Before joining the WHU, he was Assistant Professor (2007-2009) and Associate Professor (2009-2011) at the University of Twente and Full Professor Innovation & Organization at the Faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Groningen (2011-2018). He holds a masters degree in Commercial Engineering (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, 2001, magna cum laude) and became Doctor in Applied Economics (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, June 2006) with a thesis titled: “Collaboration for Innovation: Processes of Governance and Learning in R&D Alliances.”

He has published papers in journals such as Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Management Studies, Research Policy, Organization Studies, and Journal of Product Innovation Management. His current research focuses on collaboration for innovation. In particular, he studies how alliance activities influence firms´ innovation and financial performance and how firms can effectively manage different types of open innovation strategies.

Dries Faems has been Associate Editor (2012-2013) and General Editor (2014- 2018) of the Journal of Management Studies. At the moment, he is Consulting Editor of the Journal of Management Studies. In addition, he is a member of the editorial review board of the Academy of Management Journal and the Journal of Trust Research. He also acted as Guest Editor of a special issue on intellectual property management at the California Management Review.

In terms of outreach activities, Dries Faems is a regular contributor to the opinion section of the Financieel Dagblad and one of the business columnists of RTV Noord in the Netherlands. He also was the coordinator of the executive training program on ‘How to make innovation happen in Horizon2020’ for the Directorate General CONNECT of the European Commission. In 2016, he received a 120.000 grant from the Samenwerkingsverband Noord Nederland for the execution of a yearly innovation monitor in the Northern Netherlands.

Explore our Open Programs